Members of the Academy

Zuazua Iriondo, Enrique


Enrike Zuazua Iriondo was born in Eibar (Gipuzkoa) in 1961.

In December 2018, Enrique Zuazua was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt Professorship at the Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).

He is also a Distinguished Senior Researcher and Director of the Chair of Computational Mathematics at the DeustoTech Laboratory, where he directs the team funded by the European Research Council (ERC) through the Advanced Grant “DYCON: Dynamic Control”, in addition to being Professor of Applied Mathematics at the Autonomous University of Madrid (UAM).

From 2008 to 2015, he was Distinguished Research Professor at Ikerbasque, the Basque Foundation for Science, carrying out his work at the BCAM – Basque Center for Applied Mathematics, which he founded as Scientific Director in 2008.

Bachelor of Sciences (Extraordinary Award) in Mathematics by the UPV-EHU, PhD (Extraordinary Award) by the same university in 1987 and in 1988 by the Pierre et Marie Curie University (France), during the academic year 1987-1988 he was Associate Professor of the UPV-EHU to then become Permanent Professor in Mathematical Analysis at the UAM. In 1990 he was awarded a Chair in Applied Mathematics at the Complutense University of Madrid, transferring to the UAM in 2001.

His fields of specialisation cover Equations in Partial Derivatives, Systems Control and Numerical Analysis, as well as their applications in various fields of R&D&i. His cross-cutting contributions in these fields have had a significant impact on science.

He was awarded the Basque Science and Technology Award at its 2006 edition and the Julio Rey Pastor National Award 2007 in "Mathematics and Information and Communication Technologies". He has also recently received the “Humboldt Research Award 2013” in Germany, the Chair of Excellence of the CIMI (Centre International de Mathématiques et informatique) in Toulouse during the second semester of the academic year 2013-2014 and an Honorary Doctorate Degree from the University of Lorraine (France).

His works, with more than 200 articles published, have had a significant impact, being acknowledged as a “Highly Cited Researcher" by the ISI Institute (Thomson) in 2004 (index h = 33).

His team has been funded by the National Plan (now MINECO) continuously since 1990 and his team is currently a recipient of the Advanced Grant NUMERIWAVES Project, from the European Research Council (2010-2016, €1.6m), among others.

He has been a Visiting Professor at the Courant Institute in New York and at the Universities of Minnesota and Rice in the US, at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, at the Isaac Newton Institute in Cambridge, at the Pierre et Marie Curie University, Paris-Sud, Versailles, Orleans, Toulouse, Nice and at the Polytechnic School of Paris, among others.

He is Chief Editor of “ESAIM:COCV" and a member of the Editorial Committee of other significant and reputed journals.  He is likewise a member of the Scientific Committees of several Centres and agencies among which we could highlight his membership of the "IMU Circle" and the presidency of the Scientific Committee of the “Centre International de Mathématiques Pures et Appliquées” (CIMPA), which promotes Mathematics in developing countries.

He also carries out informative work, in particular through a biweekly radio programme in collaboration with “Onda Vasca” (since 2009) where they deal with topics related to Mathematics, the R&D&i system in general and education, and through his “Matemanías” column in the Deia newspaper and his “con-CIENCIA” column in the “7k” weekly magazine. These contributions are available on his multilingual website “”.

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members