Members of the Academy

Armendáriz, Montxo


Montxo Armendáriz Barrios (1949, Olleta) obtained a diploma in Industrial Studies in Pamplona and worked as an Electronics technician and teacher up until 1982.

His filmography includes such notable films as: Tasio (1984); 27 Horas (1986); Las cartas de Alou (1990); Historias del Kronen (1995); Secretos del corazón (1997); Silencio roto (2001); Escenario móvil (2004) and Obaba (2005).

In 1999, Montxo Armendáriz set up ORIA FILMS production company in partnership with Puy Oria, which produced La guerrilla de la memoria (Javier Corcuera-2002) and El inmortal (Mercedes Moncada-2005).

Some of the awards he has received include: National Film Award (1998); Príncipe de Viana Award for Culture (1998); City of Salamanca's Estrella de la Cultura Award (2006); Cinema and Social Values Award (2008), and City Of Huesca Award (2010). Montxo Armendáriz was named Honorary Doctor by the Public University of Navarre in 2010. Francisco Javier Award 2015 by the Government of Navarre. Eusko Ikaskuntza Award (2017).

His films have received countless awards at numerous film festivals, including: the Makila de Oro Award at Biarritz; Concha de Oro Award a San Sebastian; Goya Prize, awarded by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of Spain; Angel Azul Award at Berlin; Prize for Best Documentary at the Basque Cinema Competition; Best Film Award at Montpellier; Best Adapted Screenplay Award at Cannes, and has been nominated for an Oscar by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of Los Angeles.

Montxo Armendáriz has received tributes, and retrospectives of his work in Castile and León, Málaga, La Rochelle, Strasbourg, Pontarlier, Toulouse, Cairo, New York and Mexico.

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members