Members of the Academy

Colmenero de León, Juan

Physicist (Condensed matter)

Juan Colmenero de León (1951, Madrid) is professor of Condensed Matter Physics at the University of the Basque Country, UPV/EHU, and leader of the Research Group on Polymers and non-Crystalline Solids. He is also vice president of the Donostia International Physics Center Foundation.

Professor Colmenero graduated in Physics of Condensed Matter at the University of Navarre, where he also obtained a doctorate in Physics. He joined the Faculty of Chemistry's Materials Physics Department (UPV/EHU) in 1982, and was its head of department between 1989 and 1999. He has been visiting professor at the Institut für Festkörperforschung (the Institute of Solid State Research) (IFF) and Forschungszentrum Jülich (Germany) at different times between 1995 and 1998.

Professor Colmenero has sat on different scientific committees, including: the European Spallation Source (ESS); Institute Laue-Langevin (ILL), Grenoble (France) and the Jülich Centre for Neutrons Science (JCNS), Jülich (Germany), and sits on the editorial boards of the international journals: Journal of Polymer Science B: Polymer Physics and Colloid & Polymer Science.

His scientific career has developed on the interface between modern condensed matter physics and advanced materials science, covering aspects such as the physics of non-crystalline solids, polymer materials, soft matter, bio-polymers and nano-structured materials.

He has published over 350 articles and given over 60 lectures at international conferences, co-authored one book and co-edited another two.

Prof. Juan Colmenero has received, among other distinctions: Xabier de Munibe Award (1998); Euskadi Science and Technology Research Award (2000); the Spanish Royal Society of Physics Medal (2003); and the Walter Hälg 2017 Award by the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA).

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members