Members of the Academy

Palacios-Huerta, Ignacio


Professor Ignacio Palacios-Huerta has a BSc. in Mathematical Economics from the University of the Basque Country UPV/EHU (1989), and an M.A. in Economics (1991) and a PhD. in Economics from the University of Chicago (1995). His doctoral thesis “Risk and Return in Human and Financial Investments” was directed by Gary Becker (Nobel Prize in Economics 1991) and Kevin Murphy.

Professor Palacios-Huerta has been Professor of Managerial Economics and Strategy at the London School of Economics in the UK since 2007, Senior Fellow of the Ikerbasque Foundation (UPV / EHU) since 2011, and member of the board of Athletic Club de Bilbao since 2015.

He previously held the post of Professor of Economics at Brown University (USA) and has worked as assistant and/or associate professor at the following institutions: Brown University, the University of Chicago, the Hoover Institution at Stanford University and the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College.

His recent publications include the book “Beautiful Game Theory”, Princeton University Press, 2014, translated into French as “L'Économie Expliquée Par Le Foot”, De Boeck Sup., 2015; and “In 100 Years” (Editor), MIT Press, 2013, with contributions from Daron Acemoglu, Angus Deaton (Nobel Prize in Economics 2015), Avinash K. Dixit, Edward L. Glaeser, Andreu Mas‐Colell, John E. Roemer, Alvin E. Roth (Nobel Prize in Economics 2012), Robert J. Shiller (Nobel Prize in Economics 2013), Robert M. Solow (Nobel Prize in Economics 1987), and Martin L. Weitzman.

Professor Palacios-Huerta is a member of academic associations such as the World Association of International Studies, the American Economic Association, the American Finance Association, the Society of Labor Economists, the Society for Financial Studies, the Econometric Society and the Royal Economic Society.

Professor Ignacio Palacios-Huerta is an elected permanent member of Jakiunde as of 8 April 2016.

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members