Members of the Academy

Esteban Galarza, Mª Jesús


Mª Jesús Esteban Galarza (Alonsotegi, Biscay, 1956). Degree in Mathematics from the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU, 1978) and doctorate from Pierre and Marie Curie University (1981). She is currently a professor at Paris-Dauphine University. 

President of the International Council for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM) for the 2015-2019 period and a member of the Basque Government's Scientific Advisory Committee for Science, Technology, Research and Innovation; President of the Basque Center for Applied Mathematics (BCAM, Bilbao) Scientific Committee, a member of the French National Centre for Scientific Research (SNRS) Scientific Council, and a member of the European Academy of Sciences. She has been President of the Société de Mathématiques Appliquées et Industrielles (SMAI); President of the ERC Advanced Grants Panel for Mathematics; Coordinator for the "A Forward Look on Mathematics" project promoted by the European Mathematical Society (EMS) and the European Science Foundation, and is currently president of the EMS Applied Mathematics Committee. As well as being involved with other committees, she is also a member of the Abel Committee, which selects candidates for the Abel Prize (otherwise known as the Nobel Prize for Mathematics).

She also holds the title of Chevalière in the French National Order of Merit (September 2012), the CAF-Elhuyar Merit Prize (May 2017), a Doctorate Honoris Causa by the University of the Basque Country (2016), and second one by University of Valencia (2017).

Her research concerns mathematical modelling in quantum physics and chemistry. She is currently research director at the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS). She is based at the French Research Centre in Mathematics of Decision (CEREMADE), within the Mathematics Department of Paris-Dauphine University, after having started out as a CNRS researcher at the University of Paris VI.

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members