Members of the Academy

Jimeno Aranguren, Roldán

Historian of Law

Roldán Jimeno Aranguren (Iruñea-Pamplona, 1973) is a Basque Studies graduate at the Faculty of Philosophy and Humanities of the University of Navarre (1995-1996), a History graduate at the Philosophy and Humanities Faculty of the University of Navarre –recipient of the Special End of Degree Prize (1995-1996) and Third Place in the National End of Degree Prize (Geography and History)–, and a Law graduate (Spanish Distance Learning University, 2009). He gained a PhD in History with the doctoral thesis titled Foundations of Popular Pity: Saint Dedications and Worship in Early Navarre at the University of Navarre in 2001. He gained a PhD in Philosophy and Education Sciences with the doctoral thesis titled Images of Regional Law in Navarre: From Working-Class Demand to Oblivion at the University of the Basque Country in 2007. He also gained a PhD in Law with the thesis Marriage and Other Permanent Sexual Unions in the Historical Law of Navarre (8th-20th Centuries) at the University of Deusto.

Professor Jimeno has taught in the University of Navarre (1996-2001) and the University of Pau and Pays de l'Adour (2001-2003). Since 2003, he has been research professor at the Public University of Navarre, where he is currently Associate Professor of History of Law. He has also held several other roles at the same institution, including that of General Secretary since June 2019. In addition to sitting on several advisory boards, he has held various scientific positions in the Institute of Historical Law of Vasconia. He was also Director of the Foundation for the Study of Historical and Autonomous Law of Vasconia (2010-2018) and, since 2016, he has been Chair of the Publication Committee of the Culture Department of the Government of Navarre.

Roldán Jimeno has published books and scientific articles and has organised several conferences on general themes and to disseminate scientific matters.

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members