Members of the Academy

Morrás Andrés, Esteban


Esteban Morrás Andrés (1958, Sesma, Navarre) holds a degree in law from the University of Navarre. He is currently the president of das-Nano, a company he co-founded in 2012 with Eduardo Azanza. It specialises in products and solutions based on artificial intelligence, such as digital ID verification and using terahertz radiation for inspecting materials.

He has an extensive background in the renewable energy sector.

Between 1989 and 2009 he was focussed on renewables. He was founder of the company EHN (Hydroelectric Energy of Navarra), one of the global leaders in defining the energy, technical, social, environmental, industrial, regulatory and financial model with which renewables went from being marginal technologies to becoming the energy of the future. It was built from scratch and played a decisive role in the creation of Iberdrola Renovables, Siemens Gamesa, Acciona Energía, Nordex Acciona and Ingeteam, all of which are among the most important companies globally in their respective niches.

Between 1981 and 1989 he was Secretary to Sesma Town Hall, the Montejurra Association of Municipalities, the Navarrese Federation of Municipalities and Councils and the Pamplona Association of Municipalities.

Over his professional career he has won several awards and recognitions.

das-Nano was named the Most Innovative Company in Spain (2019) by the Consortium of Industrial Engineering Colleges of Spain.

In his own capacity, Esteban Morrás was named Honorary Member of Enercluster Navarra (2018), Patron of the first joint ceremony of all the engineering schools in the Public University of Navarra (UPNA/NUP) (2010), and First Honorary Member of the Spanish Renewable Energy Association APPA (2009). He won the CEDE Award (Spanish Confederation of Directors and Executives) for his management career (2009), and the Poul La Cour Award – the highest honour bestowed by the European Wind Energy Association (EWEA) – for his contribution to the development of the sector (2004).

EHN won the Energy Globe Award (World Day of Sustainable Energy) (2002), the Euromoney award for best project funding in the European electrical sector, the Financial Times award for Best Global Renewable Energy Business (2000), and the Príncipe Felipe Business Excellence award in the categories of Environmental Industrial Management and Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (1999 and 2005).

Esteban Morrás Andrés was elected a corresponding member of Jakiunde on 8 November 2019.

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members