Members of the Academy

Haritschelhar, Jean

Linguist and writer

Jean Haritschelhar Duhalde (1923, Baigorri - Biarritz, 2013) studied at his local school and then, in Bayonne, Mont-de Marsan, Tolosa, Saint-Cloud Superior Normal School and Paris-Sorbonne University. He holds a doctorate degree in Letters from the University of Bordeaux, for his theses Le poète souletin Pierre Topet-Etxahun and L'oeuvre poétique de Pierre Topet-Etxahun.

Regarding his professional career, Jean Haritschelhar was a teacher at Agen Lycee from 1952 to 1959, a lecturer at CNRS (French National Centre for Scientific Research) from 1959 to 1962 and adjunct professor of Spanish Language at the University of Bordeaux III from 1962 to 1969, where he also held the chair of Basque Language and Literature from 1969 to 1986. He was appointed curator of the Basque Museum in Bayonne in 1962 and named a full member of the Academy of Basque Language the same year.

From 1966 to 1988, Jean Haritschelhar was vice-chairman of Euskaltzaindia (the Royal Academy of Basque Language) and chairman from 1989 to 1980.

Professor Haritschelhar held the position of mayor in his hometown, Baigorri, from 1971 to 1980.

In 1988, he was named Honorary Doctor by the University of the Basque Country, UPV/EHU.

In 2010, Jean Haritschelhar Duhalde was named Honorary Doctor by the National University of Distance Education, UNED.

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members