Members of the Academy

Jáuregui Bereciartu, Gurutz

Jurist (Constitutional Law)

Gurutz Jáuregi Bereciartu (1946, Urretxu) is professor of Constitutional Law at the University of the Basque Country, UPV/EHU. He has been the deputy vice-chancellor of the University of the Basque Country, dean of the Law School, and head of the Department of Constitutional and Administrative Law.

Gurutz Jáuregi has been a visiting professor at various universities in Europe: Oxford (UK), Consiglio Nazionale delle Recerche (Rome), in USA: Reno, Puerto Rico, and in Latin America: Dominican Republic, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Brazil, Mexico. He has also served as scientific advisor to the UN (UNRISD).

He has authored thirteen individual books, supervised or participated in the publication of over fifty collective books and also published over thirty scientific articles in Spanish, Basque, Catalan, English, French, Italian and German.

Gurutz Jáuregi has won a number of accolades, including: the Eusko Ikaskuntza/Caja Laboral Popular Award for Humanities and Social Sciences (2003); Euskadi Research Award for Human and Social Sciences (2004), awarded by the Basque Government; the Ana Frank Award (1995) for the Defence of Human Rights and Culture of Peace, and the El Correo Award for Journalism (1998).

He was also shortlisted for the 1994 Anagram Essay Prize, the Ministry of Culture's 1995 and 1997 National Essay Prize, and the 2000 Jovellanos International Essay Prize.

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members