Members of the Academy

Ugalde Uribe-Etxebarria, Jesus M.

Chemist (Physical Chemistry), President of Jakiunde

Jesus M. Ugalde Uribe-Etxebarria (1957, Bergara) is professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of the Basque Country. He graduated and obtained his doctorate in Chemistry at the University of Valladolid (1984). He was post-doctoral fellow at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee, in 1984; Dalhousie University in Canada in 1986 and 1989; and Cornell University in 1992.

He is a professor at the University of the Basque Country's Faculty of Chemistry since 1994.

Throughout his career, Jesus M. Ugalde has authored over 200 scientific publications, plus 10 review contributions in books and invited papers in Memorial issues, and 20 essays aiming at science outreach.

He is a member of the editorial boards of Scientific Reports, since 2015, and Computation since 2013.

He has supervised 9 doctoral students, of whom 6 were European doctorates, and 21 post doctoral students from ten different countries.

As a member of Jakiunde Academy, he organised its first international symposium in 2008 under the title The Role of Scientific Academies in Modern Societies. In his area of expertise he organised nine international scientific conferences, including three of the series Electronic Structure: Prediction and Applications, and six included in the TheoBio: Theoretical Bio Physics series.

Jesus M. Ugalde Uribe-Etxebarria has been awarded the following accolades: Outstanding PhD Thesis Award (1985); Killam Post Doctoral Fellow Award, Halifax, Canada (1989); International Scientific Research Award, NSERC, Canada (1990);  X. M. Munibe Research Award, Basque Parliament (1997); Euskadi Research Award, Basque Government (2003); Fellow of the Basque Academy of Sciences, Letters and Arts (2007).

Full members

University chancellors

Honorary members

Corresponding members

Young corresponding members

Past members